With its gently rolling hills and beautiful vistas, Utah is an ideal state for motorcycle riders. But like any state, Utah has its own set of unique laws that pertain to motorcyclists. For example, riders are required to wear a helmet regardless of age.
But what about motorcycle insurance? Read on to learn more about Utah’s requirements for motorcycle riders, and to learn how Great West Injury Law can help you in the event of a motorcycle accident.
Utah’s Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
Each state approaches insurance laws differently, and each has unique and specific laws for the various vehicle types on the road. Utah is no different in this regard, and under current Utah law, motorcyclists are indeed required to have motorcycle insurance.
In Utah, motorcycle riders must have the following minimums on their insurance plan:
- $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person
- $65,000 for bodily injury liability for two or more persons
- $15,000 for property damage liability
It’s important to remember that if you’re in an accident where the damages and losses exceed these amounts, you might be forced to pay out-of-pocket. Buying higher amounts with more comprehensive coverage can end up saving you money in these kinds of situations, so that’s an option worth considering.
How Does Fault Affect Motorcycle Insurance in Utah?
An important consideration when thinking about insurance for any vehicle in any state is how that state handles fault in an accident, and how fault determines who pays what. States typically fall into one of two categories: at-fault and no-fault. In an at-fault state, the driver determined at fault in an accident covers medical bills and damages of all parties through their insurance plan.
Utah, on the other hand, is a no-fault state. This means that Utah drivers must have personal injury protection (PIP) to cover their own damages, like medical bills, after an accident. A victim in an accident is only allowed to sue other parties if their injuries include:
- Permanent disability
- Or costs above $3,000
Additionally, Utah is under a modified comparative negligence system. This means that if a party in an accident is deemed to be 50% (or more) at fault, they’re unable to collect damages from other parties. If a party is deemed to be less than 50% at fault, they’re able to collect for their damages minus their fault percentage. So, for example, if you’re found 20% at fault, you can collect for 80% of your damages.
What Else Is Required to Ride a Motorcycle in Utah?
Beyond necessitating insurance, Utah–like all other states–requires special licensing for motorcycle riders. To obtain a motorcycle license, certain requirements must be met:
- You must be 16 years old or older.
- You must have a valid Utah driver’s license, which also requires proof of residency.
- You must complete a medical form, a written test, and a vision test.
- You have to earn your motorcycle permit, which requires you to pass a motorcycle skills exam or complete a motorcycle safety course.
- And you must pay the requisite licensing fees.
Dealing with Insurance Companies After a Motorcycle Accident? Great West Injury Law Can Help.
Whether you’re dealing with insurance companies, negligent drivers, or the biases against motorcycle riders in the court system, Great West Injury Law can help. Our team has the resources and deep knowledge of Utah’s motorcycle laws to help maximize your settlement after an accident. While you focus on recovering, we can collect proof to bolster your case, accurately assess and pursue payment for your damages and medical bills, and negotiate with insurance companies. You can rest at ease knowing your case is in the right hands. Contact us today for a free consultation.